Fairvote.org is currently undergoing an upgrade, and some features may not be working as usual. We apologize for any inconvenience, and expect to be back at full capacity soon.

Advisory Committees

FairVote has an advisory committee comprised of former members of its Board of Directors. It also has special advisory committees for its projects Representation 2020 and Promote Our Vote.

  • Nikolas Bowie, Harvard law student
  • Kahlil Byrd, Chief Investment Officer at Fund for the Republic
  • Erin Bowser, former Executive Director of Environment Ohio 
  • Antonio Gonzalez, President of Southwest Voter Registration Education Project
  • Malia Lazu, Executive Director of Future Boston Alliance
  • Laura Liswood, CEO of Council on Women's World Leaders
  • Pete Martineau, Board Member of Californians for Electoral Reform
  • Nina Moseley, former Executive Director of Democracy South
  • Clay Mulford, COO of National Math and Science Initiative
  • Rashad Robinson, Executive Director at Color or Change
  • Katherine Spillar, Executive Editor of Ms. Magazine

Representation 2020 Leadership

  • Martha Burk, Co-Founder of the Center for Advancement of Public Policy
  • Kathleen Drew, former Washington State Senator
  • Barbara Klein, President of the League of Women Voters in Arizona
  • Paula Lee, Vice President of the Board and Legislative Director for the Californians for Electoral Reform
  • Laura Liswood, Founder and Secretary General of the Council of Women World Leaders
  • Jamie Raskin, Maryland Democratic State Senator and Professor American University's Washington College of Law
  • Marie Wilson, Founder and former President of the White House Project
  • Joseph Zimmerman, Professor at the Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy at the University of Atlanta


Ranked Choice Voting Research Advisory Committee

  • Larry Diamond, Senior Fellow at the Hoover Institution, Harvard University
  • Richard DeLeon, Professor Emeritus of Political Science, San Francisco State University
  • Todd Donovan, Professor of Political Science, Western Washington University
  • David Kimball, Professor of Political Science, University of Missouri-St. Louis
  • Martha Kropf, Associate Professor of Political Science, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  • Arend Lijphart, Professor Emeritus of Political Science, University of California at San Diego
  • Benjamin Reilly, Dean, Sir Walter Murdoch School of Public Policy and International Affairs, Murdoch University
  • Jack Nagel, Professor Emeritus of Political Science, University of Pennsylvania

Promote Our Vote Leadership

  • Steve Cobble, Associate Fellow at the Institute for Policy Studies 
  • Josh Douglas, Professor at University of Kentucky College of Law
  • Anita Earls, Research Fellow and Professor at Duke University's College for the Study of Race, Ethnicity and Gender
  • Adam Fogel, Chief of Staff for Montgomery County Councilmember Nancy Navarro
  • Geoff Foster, Associate Director of Political Action at the United Teen Equality Center 
  • Ron Hayduk, Professor of Political Science at Queens College, CUNY
  • Dan Johnson, Partner at Korey Cotter Heather & Richardson LLC
  • Alexander Keyssar, the Stirling Professor of History and Social Policy at Harvard's Kennedy School of Government
  • Eugene Kinlow, Public Affairs Director of DC Vote
  • Peter Levine, Director of CIRCLE, the Center for Information and Research on Civic Learning
  • Tim Male, Councilmember for Takoma Park City Council & Vice President for Conservation Policy at Defenders of Wildlife 
  • Marc Mauer, Executive Director of The Sentencing Project
  • Michael McDonald, Associate Professor of Government and Politics at George Mason University
  • John Nichols, Political Writer at The Nation 
  • Larry Ottinger, former President of the Center for Lobbying in the Public Interest
  • Jamie Raskin, Maryland State Senator
  • Rashad Robinson, Executive Director of Color of Change
  • Bennet Singer, Writer and Filmmaker 
  • Jacob Soboroff, Host and Producer of HuffPost Live
  • Peter Wagner, Co-Founder the Prison Policy Initiative 
  • Frank Watkins 
  • Ilir Zherka, Executive Director of the National Conference on Citizenship