Fairvote.org is currently undergoing an upgrade, and some features may not be working as usual. We apologize for any inconvenience, and expect to be back at full capacity soon.

Former instant runoff program director takes state legislative seat

// Published November 4, 2008
Diane Marie Russell-Natera ran our program on instant runoff voting last year, organizing a terrific workshop for activists from around the country and doing a remarkable job with local reformers in Sarasota, Florida in their dominant 78% victory in an instant runoff voting ballot measure. She headed back to Maine to run for office and indeed it looks like she's won Maine's 120th house district, taking 46% in a hotly contested three candidate race in which a Green Party candidate won 34% and a Republican won 20%.

Other state legislators up for re-election have strong FairVote ties, including former Presidential Elections Reform program director Chris Pearson (Vermont) and analyst David Segal (Rhode Island).